An actual blog, with an actual blog post.

I ought to have one of these, oughtn’t I?

Hi.

I’m Arkady Martine. I write science fiction and fantasy, when I’m not researching Byzantium and the medieval Caucasus for the Other Job, under the Other Name. I like nanites and doppelgangers and dead languages. I write a lot about memory and propaganda, no matter which job I’m doing. I’ve just started selling my stories to semiprofessional and professional magazines, and I’m working on what I hope will be my first novel this summer. I was a Viable Paradise XVII student and can enthuse endlessly about that experience.

I’m hoping this blog will be a decent place to talk about writing (mine and other people’s) and other SFnal things, as they occur to me.

The brief biographical sketch: late-twenties, female, New Yorker (but with no current fixed address), raised by wild classical musicians, just finished a PhD in Byzantine history. Most likely found wandering in a foreign city where I don’t know the language, entranced by some obscure grammar from 875 CE, and thinking about aliens.

 

One thought on “An actual blog, with an actual blog post.

  1. If you’re prepared to receive raucous demands from the gallery, may I just say that I want to hear so much more Viable Paradise enthusing when you’re up for it!

Leave a Reply

